Hello from Finnie

    Hello and a most sincere welcome to my blog!  My name is Finnie (that’s right – Finnie — and not short for anything) Murray. My career has been entirely in the academic world. My undergraduate degree in Zoology and Animal Science is from North Carolina State University – as is my M.S. degree in animal science.  My Ph.D. was earned at the University of Florida in Reproductive Physiology, and I had postdoctoral training at the University of Colorado at Boulder and the University of Tennessee. During my working career, I was a professor at the University of Tennessee, The Ohio State University, Ohio University, Henderson State University, Texas A&M University – Commerce, and the University of Nebraska at Kearney over a span of 38 years. I also served as Director of the Interdisciplinary Doctoral Program in Molecular and Cellular Biology and Chair of the Department of Zoological and Biomedical Sciences (renamed Department of Biological Sciences during my tenure) at Ohio University; Dean of the Matt Locke Ellis College of Arts and Sciences at Henderson State University; Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences at Texas A&M University – Commerce; and Senior Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs and Student Life at the University of Nebraska at Kearney. Now I am retired, and my wife, Deborah, and I live here in Weihai, China, throughout most of the year.
 
I was attending the UNK retirement recognition.
 
My wife Deborah and I
 
    During the last decade of my career, I was fortunate enough to have been able to form deep and strong bonds of friendship and trust with faculty members and staff members of several universities in China and several other countries around the world.  As these friendships developed, so did my interest in and knowledge of China. It was abundantly clear to me that China is on a developmental path that will make it one of the most important contributors to the future of the world. Hence, it seems evident that it is of paramount importance for people in the Western World to learn as much as possible about China – just as the people of China are learning as much as they can about the Western World. Personally, I have become ever more impressed with the gracious nature, enormous energy and drive, and optimism of the Chinese people. So as I approached retirement, it was a great honor and pleasure for me to be offered the opportunity to serve as senior consultant for American Programs at Shandong University at Weihai. In this position, I consult with the dean and staff of International Education regarding American Programs, I consult with Shandong University students who seek advice in applying for undergraduate and graduate programs in America, and I am looking forward to serving as a friend and advisor to English-speaking students who wish to study here.  I am also learning more about China and its culture and language! 
 
Hotpot clipped
        Hot Pot dinner with our friends in Weihai.
 
    The purpose of this blog is three fold. I hope to 1) to share with you the experiences Deb and I have as we live immersed in this community, 2) to inform you about activities here at Shandong University at Weihai, and 3) to answer your questions to the extent of my ability about the first two objectives. I look forward to hearing from you!
 

This entry was posted in Announcement of Purpose. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

